Quiet

The light layer of snow on the ground outside today is the perfect picture of quiet. Peace. Stillness. Nothing too hurried or busy. It looks silent.

Quiet, as any parent of young children knows, is something I don’t have enough of. I love snuggles and sweet baby kisses and cute little toes and chubby thighs and carefree smiles and the looks of adoration I get just because I am Mommy.

I love my kids and I love them around me, but I also love quiet.

I love it when I don’t have to talk, when no one is asking me questions, when no one is crying. Even though I’m around the noise and activity all the time, it’s still hard to put thoughts together. John and I struggle to finish sentences or thoughts or make plans. It’s the nature of any young family.

I have heard people say at times they don’t know how someone would run for an hour without music in their ears or that silence feels funny inside their house and they have to turn on a TV for background noise and that is hard for me to imagine.

With noise in the background, it’s hard to hear your own voice over the other voices clamoring for attention, the words of the songs, the voice of the announcer, and inane television conversation.

And so the peaceful outside morning calls to me.

It’s the beauty of winter, the peaceful days of snowshoeing with just the sound of my footsteps crunching, the ability to hear all the sounds of nature outside. And this morning I feel excited for that season.

Welcome winter.

This entry was posted in Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet

  1. Susan Woodworth says:

    Mmmmmm. Delicious. I can almost smell and taste and FEEL this peace. Thank you for sharing the beauty.

  2. gi says:

    I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

